Which football team do you support ? The Geriatric DJ, of course, supports SHEFFIELD WEDNESDAY.  I never broadcast a single track in the studio without having my Wednesday scarf with me.

HI HO SHEFFIELD WEDNESDAY.

I love going to Hillsborough and soaking up the atmosphere of fun. When I can not make it to Hillsborough I always follow the boys on-line.

As a bit of fun and to help raise awareness I sponsor the goals the lads score for good causes. The whole project does not make a lot of money but then supporting a good cause does not always mean money !

One of the good causes the goals sponsor is Milton Keynes Winter Night Shelter which lovingly cares for our homeless and rough-sleeping friends across the harshest months of the year.

Here I am with Sara, Communications Manager for Milton Keynes Winter Night Shelter, proudly waving Sheffield Wednesday scarves with The Barclays Premier League Trophy.

I did try to nick the trophy and take it to Hillsborough - no not really but if the lads can score enough goals then it can be there by right.

In the twenty-first century it is absolutely disgusting that we need a food bank, not just in Milton Keynes where I live, but all round the world. Disgusting but thank goodness we have such a wonderful organisation.

As I promote The Food Bank I tell people not to simply toss a tin of beans or a packet of soup into a collection trolley in the supermarket but to stand back and think. Think about the person who will receive your gift, who needs your gift. Then wrap your gift in love before putting into the collection point.

Date Game Result Goals Scored by Good Cause
Saturday 10th August Home Barnsley Sheffield Wednesday 2

Barnsley 0

Jacob Murphy

Steven Fletcher

Milton Keynes Winter Night Shelter
Saturday 17th August Away Milwall Milwall 1

Sheffield Wednesday 0

  The Food Bank
Tuesday 20th August Away Luton Town Luton Town 0

Sheffield Wednesday 1

  Piggie Alfie Curly Tails Rescue Centre
Saturday 24th August Home Preston North End Preston North End 2

Sheffield Wednesday 1

  Milton Keynes Winter Night Shelter
Wednesday 28th August Away Rotherham FA Cup Rotherham 0

Sheffield Wednesday 1

Atdhe Nuhiu The Food Bank
Saturday 31st August Home Queens Park Rangers Sheffield Wednesday 1

Queens Park Rangers 0

Steven Fletcher Piggie Alfie Curly tails
Sunday 15th September Away Huddersfield Town Huddersfield Town 0

Sheffield Wednesday 2

Steven Fletcher

Sam Winnall

Milton Keynes Winter Night Shelter
Saturday 21st September Home Fullham      
Tuesday 24th September Home Everton      
Saturday 28th September Away Middlesbrough      
Tuesday 1st October Away Hull City      
Saturday 5th October Home Wigan Athletic      
Saturday 19th October Away Cardiff City      
Tuesday 22nd October Home Stoke City      
Saturday 26th October Home Leeds United      
Saturday 2nd November Away Blackburn Rovers      
Saturday 9th November Home Swansea City      
Saturday 23rd November Away West Bromwich Albion      
Wednesday 27th November Home Birmingham City      
Saturday 7th December Home Brentford      
Wednesday 11th December Away Derby County      
Saturday 14th December Away Nottingham Forest      
Saturday 21st December Home Bristol City      
Thursday 26th December Away Stoke City      
Sunday 29th December Home Cardiff City      
Wednesday 1st January Home Hull City      
Saturday 11th January Away Leeds United      
Saturday 18th January Home Blackburn Rovers      
Saturday 25th January Away Wigan Athletic      
Saturday 1st February Home Millwall      
Saturday 8th February Away Barnsley      
Wednesday 12th February Away Luton Town      
Saturday 15th February Home Reading      
Saturday 22nd February Away Birmingham City      
Wednesday 26th February Home Charlton Athletic      
Saturday 29th February Home Derby County      
Saturday 7th March Away Brentford      
Saturday 14th March Home Nottingham Forest      
Tuesday 17th March Away Bristol City      
Saturday 21st March Home West Bromwich Albion      
Saturday 4th April Away Swansea City      
Friday 10th April Home Preston North End      
Monday 13th April Away Queens Park Rangers      
Saturday 18th April Home Huddersfield Town      
Saturday 25th April Away Fulham      
Saturday 2nd May Home Middlesbrough      

I am an animal lover, I always have been. It was quite late in my life that I became a vegetarian. Before I saw the light my favourite meal was gammon steak and chips but NO MORE - NO WAY.

My music and I sponsor Piggie Alfie at Curly Tails Rescue Centre in Newton Longville.

So there are the three good causes I sponsor the goals the boys score:

Milton Keynes Winter Night Shelter

The Food Bank

Piggie Alfie At Curly Tails Pig Rescue

After every game I always write the the goal scorer to say THANK YOU and to explain where the sponsorship has gone.

Which football club do you support ?

Which good cause is close to your heart ?

Could this little story inspire you to sponsor the goals your team score for a good cause close to your heart

If every fan at every game did that what a wonderful thing that would be. Nicking West Ham's anthem - BLOW SOME BUBBLES OF LOVE !

Custom Skins for iPhones, Samsung Galaxy, HTC, iPad, Playstation 4 and Xbox One EVO Scooters - Exclusive Distributor of EVO powerboards

David Ashford The Geriatric DJ

www.geriatricdj.com